



Committee: OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY COMMITTEE

Date: TUESDAY, 3 MARCH 2009

Venue: MORECAMBE TOWN HALL

Time: 6.00 P.M.

Councillors are reminded that as Members of overview and scrutiny they may not be subjected to the Party Whip, which is prohibited under the Lancaster City Council Constitution.

AGENDA

This meeting has been summoned on the grounds of urgency in accordance with Section 100 A (6) of the Local Government Act 1972 as amended by the Local Government (Access to Information) Act 1985 and is urgent by virtue that any recommendation for Cabinet to reconsider the decision would have budgetary implications and need to be considered by Cabinet prior to Budget Council on 4th March 2009.

- 1. Apologies for Absence.
- 2. Declarations of Interest
- 3. Items of Urgent Business authorised by the Chairman

Consideration of any other decisions Called-in with regard to the Cabinet meeting on 17th February 2009, which have implications for Budget Council on 4th March 2009,

4. Request to Call-in Cabinet Decision - Public Toilet Review - Cabinet Minute 140 (Pages 1 - 15)

The Cabinet decision on Public Toilet Review (Minute 140) taken by Cabinet on 17th February 2009 has been requested to be called in by Councillors Histed and Bray (Overview and Scrutiny Committee Members) and Councillors Roe, Dent and Fishwick. This request was subsequently agreed by the Chief Executive. The decision has been called-in in accordance with Part 4, Section 5, Sub-section 16 of the Council's constitution.

Councillor Abbott Bryning (Leader of the Council) and Peter Loker (Corporate Director (Community Services) have been invited to attend to outline the basis on which the decision was made.

- Call-in Procedure
- Call-in Notice
- Report to Cabinet
- □ Cabinet Minute Extract

ADMINISTRATIVE ARRANGEMENTS

(i) Membership

Councillors Stuart Langhorn (Chairman), Emily Heath (Vice-Chairman), Susan Bray, Mike Greenall, Val Histed, Karen Leytham, Roger Plumb, Roger Sherlock and Jude Towers

(ii) Substitute Membership

Councillors Tina Clifford, John Day, Jean Dent, Sarah Fishwick, Andrew Kay, Bob Roe, Rob Smith, Morgwn Trolinger and Peter Williamson

(iii) Queries regarding this Agenda

Please contact Liz Bateson, Democratic Services - telephone (01524) 582047 or email ebateson@lancaster.gov.uk.

(iv) Changes to Membership, substitutions or apologies

Please contact Members' Secretary, telephone 582170, or alternatively email memberservices@lancaster.gov.uk.

MARK CULLINAN, CHIEF EXECUTIVE, TOWN HALL, DALTON SQUARE, LANCASTER LA1 1PJ

Published on 25th February 2009